No kills today... yet.

Upcoming Events

- Weekly DarkSpace
05/04/24 +20.6 Hours

Search

Anniversaries

No anniversaries today.

Social Media

Why not join us on Discord for a chat, or follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

Network

DarkSpace
DarkSpace - Beta
Palestar

[FAQ
Forum Index » » Client Installation Issues (Hardware/Drivers) » » Problems with Windows XP RC1
 Author Problems with Windows XP RC1
Deleted

Posted: 2001-07-21 21:30   
Hi All

I'm a newbie here and have not been able to play Darkspace very much as yet.

I am experiencing some of the problems that others are having in regards to connecting to servers, clarity of text and flashing lines and colours on the screen.

I have been able to connect and actually get into the game on many occassions, but always experience issues within 2 to 3 minutes from being in a game.

Problem being game seems to stop for about 30 seconds (sound goes into a constant loop and can't move mouse or anything), then resumes for maybe 5 seconds then stops again etc. etc. This happens approx 5 times before the game closes with no error message. Windows then behaves in a similar way (can move the mouse for maybe 2 seconds then stop for 30 seconds) forcing me to reboot.

I have not had this issue with any other game or application so far with Windows XP.

I am using drivers that came with Windows XP for video/sound/etc as they appear to be the latest ones specifically for XP.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hardware Specs:
P3 866Mhz
512Mb RAM
ATI Radeon 64Mb
SB Live DE 5.1
Cable Modem

Deleted

Posted: 2001-07-22 06:55   
The flashing ingame with a Radeon card has been reported before try to start Darkspace in windowed mode (via settings in the client startup).

As far as the lockups are concerned i have to look for it, when i find s.th. useful i'll post it here, we haven't had much exp with windows XP and Darkspace (noone seemed to have it this far)

Toddi

Bumblebee
Cadet