Upcoming Events

- Weekly DarkSpace
04/27/24 +2.0 Days

Search

Anniversaries

16th - Voidraptor
11th - SatchBoogie

Social Media

Why not join us on Discord for a chat, or follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

Network

DarkSpace
DarkSpace - Beta
Palestar

[FAQ
Forum Index » » English (General) » » New age building?
 Author New age building?
Bardiche
Chief Marshal

Posted: 2008-03-21 22:56   
Bardiche: "I'm a 483 Engineer... Which basically means, "lol why build planets, planets = mirving prestige", and the only planets I should, realistically, build are either SY or clustered planets... Or SY planets in a cluster."
"Or depot planets, as they serve a good role... But planets to defend themselves? Realistically, no planet can defend itself frmo a bomber run late at night when everyone sleeps/is gone."
"Maybe I should toss all my previous ideals out of the window and begin this new age of building planets made to serve the players."
"... And leave those silly stand-alone planets as hardly anyone ever makes an effort to defend them anyway."

I've decided. It's a silly idea. MAybe it's a genius idea.

But what if I scrap all the planets of an entire system (alternatively, MiRV them and NOT hurt my prestige too much) and dedicate them wholly to serving as a Shipyard and/or Depot to allied ships.

Think on it for a moment.

1) Provided they have the shield generators, MiRVers may have a hard time mirving the planets because of the shields.
2) Neut these planets and you have a Shipyard, thus meaning a quick fielding of combat vessels where it is relevant.
3) Due to over-abundance of Shipyards, all factions can immediately field combat vessels in the combat zone. Neut one planet, and theoretically, the opposing faction can immediately spawn a ship from any planet to counter-act your bomber; At the same time, your faction can spawn ships once the SY has recovered to counter-act the enemy attackers.