No kills today... yet.

Upcoming Events

- Weekly DarkSpace
05/04/24 Now

Search

Anniversaries

1st - Alamode

Social Media

Why not join us on Discord for a chat, or follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

Network

DarkSpace
DarkSpace - Beta
Palestar

[FAQ
Forum Index » » Soap Box » » Just finished the Eve trial
 Author Just finished the Eve trial
Rogue Spear
Grand Admiral
Galactic Navy

Posted: 2009-10-04 20:58   
Yes I know I've preached for 6 or 7 years that I wouldnt play the game but I wanted to see what the big deal was. While it is an impressive game in many aspects it doesnt hold a candle to DarkSpace in terms of quality gameplay.

From the moment I started playing Eve it felt like a job. I gave it my best shot, was tutored by DS vets and studied battleclinic obsessively just to make sure I knew what I was doing. Reguardless of the great progress I made during my short period, the friendly people I met, the sheer scope of the game, it still felt lacking. Everyone told me it will get better in time, after several months or even years (!?) Yeah they were probably right but lets rewind a bit.

My DarkSpace free trial back in March of 2002 was absolutely outstanding. The high volume of players and quick action on the FA server kept me salivating for more. In fact I skipped school quite a few times those 2 weeks. Although I was at first alarmed by the small player base the moment I was thrown into a server with over 50 people crowded in it I knew it wasnt going to be an issue. I was playing a game not doing a job.I was having fun.