Upcoming Events

- Weekly DarkSpace
05/04/24 +4.0 Days

Search

Anniversaries

22th - Tellaris
17th - Oskar von Reuenthal

Social Media

Why not join us on Discord for a chat, or follow us on Twitter or Facebook for more information and fan updates?

Network

DarkSpace
DarkSpace - Beta
Palestar

[FAQ
Forum Index » » English (General) » » Besides combat, what else is fun in DS?
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
 Author Besides combat, what else is fun in DS?
Kenny_Naboo
Marshal
Pitch Black

Posted: 2012-08-13 09:44   
Yep. That age ol' question.

I've been asking myself that since I started playing DS. Looking at my stats, you see ship kills and ship damage taking precedence over the other stats. (Them being there just for me to get the badges necessary to fly all the ships in-game)

Don't look at this as a gripe. I'm not one to whine abt the game. I enjoy it as it is. This is more of a discussion where we can throw out ideas on how to make the other aspects of the game more fun.

You see, the devs have been working so hard (And I sincerely thank them for their dedication) on game balance because some of you guys are always going on and on about how this is OP and how that is unfair and bla bla bla. And much of the work as been centered around combat.

But what about the other aspects of the game?
Building? Supping? Mining? etc?

Right now, all these other functions exist to support.... yep, combat.

I think that DS could be more than its current state if an economy system were introduced, or reintroduced, into the game.

Looking at this thread, ( http://www.darkspace.net/index.htm?module=forums.php&page=/viewtopic.php?topic=53088&forum=1&4 ) I surmised that there was some kinda in game economy somewhere back in the mid 2000s.

Also, looking at other space MMO games like Jumpgate, EVE, we can also see that combat is just one facet of the game, but obviously building, mining and others also make up other dominant aspects of gameplay.